Precision Turbo Product Catalog Download 2014 Product Catalog
PTE is an ISO 9001:2008 registered company
New Pro Series 66mm Wastegate
Three Decades Strong!
Sign Up for Precision Email Newsletter

Enter your name and email address below for news and special offers from Precision!

Become a Fan on Facebook!
Precision YouTube Channel Precision on Twitter
Precision News > Top Stories

Race Recap: PSCA SCSN VIII (November 16-18, 2012)

Coverage from the November 16-18, 2012 PSCA SCSN VIII drag racing event.

Posted By Precision | Published November 19, 2012

Troy Coughlin

Troy Coughlin

Race Recap: SCSN VIII – Las Vegas, NV

Precision Turbo & Engine customers dominate at the SCSN VIII race, taking home wins in 3 of 6 classes!

Pro Street
Jose "El General" Gonzalez and Don Walsh, Jr. battled it out for the number one qualifier position while simultaneously setting ET and MPH world records. Gonzalez ultimately clinched the top spot with his 5.730 at 258.02 MPH run and claimed the ET record, but Walsh in second ran 5.736 at 261.27 MPH to grab the MPH record for himself. Other notable contenders such as Troy Coughlin, Mike Bowman, Todd Tutterow, Steve Matusek, Jeff Lutz, Clint Hairston, Clint Satterfield, Scott Oksas, John Mihovetz, Trevor Lowe and more put up a strong fight.

In eliminations, Gonzalez and Coughlin fought to shut out their opponent during each round and ultimately wound up in the finals. Coughlin ran unopposed due to Gonzalez having an issue in the semis, and the 2012 NHRA Pro Mod Champion took home the win.

Congratulations to Troy Coughlin and the JEGS team on picking up the Pro Street win and on an absolutely incredible year! Congratulations also to Jose “El General” Gonzalez and Don Walsh, Jr. on setting their huge world records.

Outlaw 10.5
Mike Murillo ran a new personal best and qualified second overall with his huge 6.354 at 235.39 MPH pass. Gary Soulages, Larry Larson and others also pushed hard during qualifying.

Having gone through qualifying with exceptional results, Murillo carried on into eliminations taking out challenger after challenger until he found himself and his team standing in the winner’s circle, award check in hand, smiling for the cameras.

Congratulations to the Murillo family on their outstanding performance and win!

Extreme Drag Radial
Willard Kinzer set both the Low ET and Top Speed numbers with his 6.733 at 230.92 MPH pass, earning him the top spot in qualifying. Not far behind was Eric Dillard, Dave Bowman, Brant Campbell, and other PTE boosted drivers.

Dillard, always cool, calm and consistent, rocked each round of eliminations and wound up running against Bowman in the finals. When the lights came down, Dillard’s 6.705 at 228.96 MPH run was unbeatable and he was declared the winner.

Congratulations to Eric Dillard and the Pro Line Racing crew on their XDR victory, as well as to Dave Bowman on his runner-up finish!

Troy Coughlin
Jose Gonzalez
Eric Dillard
Mike Murillo
Don Walsh, Jr.
Todd “King Tut” Tutterow
Mike Bowman
Dave Bowman
Willard Kinzer
Larry Larson
Trevor Lowe
Jeff Lutz
Steve Matusek
John Mihovetz
Clint Hairston

Tags: race, recap, results, drag, racing, psca, scsn viii, street car super nationals